Yarndale 2014

I may be a little late to post about Yarndale 2014, but hopefully it is worth the wait. This year was the second year of Yarndale, and whilst I was unable to go last year, I was determined to make it to this one. Once the tickets were booked, I obsessively looked at stallholders and make my list of goodies to buy…and the list grew every day.

I was up incredibly early – I am not a morning person at all, and the 4:30am wake up call was only made easier by the fact that I would soon be on my way to buy lots and lots of wonderful yarn. I went with the lovely Amy AKA Minimole, and after two trains, one taxi ride and a short journey on the Yarndale bus we arrived.

IMG_3017 IMG_3021

More than a little public knitting was done was done whilst enjoying the views from the train, and it was so nice to see more and more knitters getting on the train as we pulled in to each station. The Yarndale bus ride was fantastic too, and you could feel the excitement growing as we were getting closer.

There were so many stalls filled with wonderful items, and the stallholders were so friendly and passionate about their crafts. I was particularly impressed by the layout of the stands. Despite the crowds, everyone was very patient and understanding, and there was enough room to move about in the aisles.

It was so easy to strike up conversations with other crafty enthusiasts, and on more than one occasion I got talking to people about what we were planning to use our purchases for whilst we were waiting to pay – and everyone was really nice as I was trying to maneuver my way through the crowds.

IMG_3042 IMG_3044

Obviously no blog post about a knitting show would be complete without a photo or two of my haul. I had a rough budget and actually managed to stay within it, and I have all sorts of ideas for my purchases. I had two items on my list that I really wanted, and I was able to get both. The first was a skein of Deeply Wicked sock yarn in the colourway Vortex by Easyknits…and I may have gone a little bit crazy at the Easyknits stand, but it is pretty easy to see why. I managed to get the last two skeins of Vortex (the blue-yellow combination) which will become a shawl, and I also wanted a skein of Sea-quine by Sparkleduck which will also become a shawl.

. IMG_3047 IMG_3048

There were so many new stallholders and sellers that I had never seen before, and I have marked my Yarndale brochure for all of the sellers that I did not managed to browse properly on the day. I have already put a few things on my Christmas list!

One thought on “Yarndale 2014

Leave a Reply

