Book Review: It’s My Party and I’ll Knit If I Want To – By Sharon Aris

Taking a leaf from the fantastic Breige over at Rare Opal, one thing I really wanted to do more of this year was to read more books. After a three year English Literature degree, and currently being half way through a post-graduate qualification in Charity and Social Enterprise Management, my love of reading has become non-existent.

Itsmypartyreview

I first picked up this book in 2003, when I was first learning to knit. It takes a light-hearted look at the resurgence in knitting that occurred in the early 2000s, and follows author Sharon Aris as she learns to knit, and learns to love it. The chatty, informal style really spoke to me as I was learning to knit, and it was great to read about someone making the same discoveries as I was. As Sharon is based in Australia, most of her discoveries focus there, and as a new knitter it was fascinating to get an insight into all things knitting Down Under.

As a more experienced knitter rereading this book, it did not speak to me on the same level, but maybe that is because I am not a beginner anymore. Things have also changed so much since this book was written. No doubt if Sharon Aris was to write this book now, Ravelry and the rise of the online knitting community would feature heavily whereas the internet is not mentioned at all.

Overall, I think that this book would be great for beginner knitters who are falling in love with their newly discovered craft, but that more experienced knitters should stick with knitting writers such as the Yarn Harlot. Either way, this book is a quick read that provides interesting information about the history of knitting, whilst allowing you to follow one woman as she discovers a craft that has had such a profound effect on so many people.

If you would like to purchase this book, it can be found on many sites including Amazon.

Leave a Reply

