Crazy Rainbow Socks

Ever since I learnt to knit socks, they have been my go to easy knit. I always have a pair of socks on the go, and when I have to travel somewhere, I like to cast on a new pair so that I have a woolly momento of each trip. This pair of socks is no exception and I love them and the memories they hold. I have known for months that I would be going to Edinburgh for Edinburgh Yarn Festival, and I wanted something a little bit different than my usual striped or variegated yarn for these socks. Let me introduce you to Phildar Folk 100. bengale 2015-03-22 13.37.06 This yarn caught my eye straight away and I had no idea how it would look when being knitted. I purchased the Bengale colourway and patiently waited for the time to come to cast on. That moment came last Wednesday – everything came together perfectly, it was my birthday, I was attending a new knitting group and there were only 2 days to go until I got on the train to Edinburgh. IMG_3594 My train ride consisted of spectacular views and the emergence of a lovely sock from my needles as we headed north. I love vanilla socks for this very reason – I was able to stare out of the window whilst still knitting and relaxing. I used Stephanie Pearl McPhee’s vanilla sock pattern for these, the same pattern that I used to knit my first pair of socks. The first sock was finished by Sunday and the second one was completed a few days later. I had the most amazing time in Edinburgh and I love having such a happy pair of socks to remind me of that.2015-03-22 15.31.07-2

One thought on “Crazy Rainbow Socks

Leave a Reply

