Crafting Goals for 2016

Now that 2016 is finally upon us and people are talking about their New Year’s Resolutions, it seems fitting to think about the crafty goals that I am setting myself. Last year was a mixed bag for achieving the goals that I had set myself, but I did achieve things that I had never thought I would. It is surprising how your interests can vary over the year. At the beginning of 2015 I was really interested in kitting socks and garments, and as the year ended I was queuing mitten patters on Ravelry like a woman possessed!

This year my list is a mix of things from last year, as I still really want to do them, and a few new ones that have sprung to mind along the way. The wonderful thing about crafts and the internet is that you can find so much inspiration and there are so many tutorials that you really can do anything.

My list for 2016 are:
1. Complete my Cosy Memories Blanket
2. Making stitch markers
3. Dyeing yarn with Kool Aid
4. DIY Sharpie mugs
5. Knit one garment for myself
6. Make 5 Christmas gifts
7. Knit 6 pairs of socks

My Cosy Memories blanket – pattern here is currently very small, and I am really looking forward to seeing it grow. It is knit completely in sock yarn, so I will have to get moving on those six pairs of socks so that I have enough leftover yarn to add to my blanket.

I have so much yarn that I am putting myself on a yarn diet until March when I will be at the Edinburgh Yarn Festival. I have not bought any new yarn for a while but there is so much loveliness waiting to be used, and I am hoping that the yarn diet will lead to more pennies in my purse for Edinburgh and a slightly smaller stash!

Hopefully 2016 will be full of yarn, happiness and good health for everyone. What are your crafting goals?

 

Leave a Reply

